Somewhere near my birthplace

Winter holidays passed without snow or any significant events, but still there was a difference. This year I spend the holidays somewhere near my birthplace,at about 30km,in a village called Calugareasa  placed in Gorj county. It wasn’t a coincidence, there is living my aunt so I spend Christmas in family.

Even though I didn’t have snow to photograph, I found some beautiful landscapes, woods, hills, old houses reeking. It was such a joy to take a walk in the woods and play again with my camera. Some days were foggy, some very sunny and some mornings were white because of  hoarfrost.

Also I had the opportunity to sleep in an old house from village .The room I slept in was warmed with a tile stove and it has on the walls carpets and old portraits. In the other room was a tile stove where they were cooking in the old times.  It was such a nice experience, but unfortunately I couldn’t photograph the rooms or the tile stove because the light was low.

This was also a good opportunity for my sister who never has visited a village. I was showing her the animals : cows, geese, horses, pigs and so on and she was kind of scared of them at the beginning. Also I was making her walk on the hills and in the woods, which was kind of hard because she never walked so much by foot, but in the end she enjoyed very much this little escape and she promises she will come back soon.

I love the countryside life, with the fresh air, beautiful landscapes and natural food, but I figure out it is a hard life, people from there are deprived of a lot of things. But still I think they are happy as they are with the little things.

I am curios to know what’s your opinion about living in a village, would you liked to live in the countryside?

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment